On Endurance, Speed & Fun!

I was on my 8th week of marathon training and I’d say I’ve learned a lot from reading, asking advices from other runners and following a Training Plan(At last!). As I started running a year ago, I never was a running nerd that reads and do some proper trainings for running(I don’t advise this. :p). I usually just join a race and run. As I’m preparing for my 2nd full marathon this December, let me share with you what I’ve been up to.

ENDURANCE
I finished my first FM last July(Milo) with no proper mileage per week and even LSDs on Sundays. I barely reached 30kms per week and I only depend on every Sunday race events if available. Now since my first week of training, I logged 60-80kms of mileage per week. Combination of Recovery, Easy, Intervals, Tempo and LSDs

One of our Trrc lsd with takbo.ph

SPEED
Intervals? I don’t even know these things before. Lol! But since these are included on my training program, I have no choice but to learn and apply. For the past weeks, I’m doing some speed interval trainings and one of this would be the soul-beating YASSO 800s. Just to summarize what this is all about, it would predict your marathon time by running those 800m(click for complete info). Just today, I finally complete a full YASSO 800 Training. Whew!

What to do after a speed workout? EAT!

FUN
Who said that fun shouldn’t be included on your training? I’m not really a super duper serious running guro and I’m more on a happy go lucky runner so I always make it to the point that on everything I do, fun was never left out. After a hard training alone, I usually run with Kathy, my officemates and friends. Either a short run, LSDs or simple jog at kwentuhan pace would do. I also help them on their goals, running form, etc. Most importantly, motivating them and encouraging them to run and not to be de-motivated or discouraged by “negative” elements around.

Happy runners

Basically these trainings improved my running skills a lot. I was able to do a 10k at sub 45mins and 5k at sub 21mins during my test training runs. I also improved my heart rate when doing my easy runs at much faster pace. Anyway, I’m already in the middle of my 42km training program. I hope I could hold down the fort until the BIG day. It was really a TOUGH 8 weeks!

Thinking of the next 8 weeks of training.

Bring it on!

2 Comments

  1. impressive 5k and 10k record. aiming for a sub-4? my ‘problem’ lately is getting things done. most of the time i get bored and would skip my training plan and ending up taking a week of rest. hard keeping my motivation up.

  2. grabe bilis ng 5k at 10k mo ah..anong training ba yan? san mo natuklasan?? haha kailangan ko din nyan!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,756 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers