Milo simulation (Greenfield run)

When: May 29, 2011
Where: Laguna
Distance: 21km
Training: 21km simulation

After being a marshal for a day, it’s time to be a runner once again. Greenfield Clean Air run would be the 7th long run of my training for milo elims. Together with some of Team Alpha1, we arrived at Greenfield City Laguna too early around 3am thinking we might get stuck in traffic like the incident last year. haha! (alright, it was my fault).

With the guys at the parking lot

The plan was simple, to run my fastest 21k in a comfortable pace and to finish it fresh without pushing myself. This would be a simulation run for my Milo marathon, first 21k split. 🙂

At the starting area

Gunstart started at 4:45am. It’s a bit earlier than most of the runrio’s 21k events. This would be advisable especially during summer where the sun rises much earlier than cold seasons. I just plan to do a  5:00 pace all the way and not to push myself but amazed that I was doing a 4:30-4:45 for my first few kilometers. I really felt great with that pace and just maintained it. At km 10, my split was at sub 46mins and I was worried if I was a little bit fast versus my planned pace so I decided to slow down not to burn myself out on the latter part of the race. The goal was just to finish it strong and fresh so I could still do my speed and tempo runs days after. 🙂

The route was awesome and we had a chance to run again with the fresh air of Greenfield City. Finished it in 1:42:18 giving me a new 21k PR and placed 11th overall. I still felt strong afterwards and was really happy with the simulation results. Yahoo!

Post race

Now comes the best part… Eating time! We ate at Leslie’s Tagaytay for their famous Bulalo.

Hungry masters

While I was eating, a great landscape of the Taal volcano came into my view, and then I kept on thinking about Milo Elims whether if I will qualify or not. I am now on my 3rd month of training and the peak of it is almost there.

View of Taal volcano

Lord, I hope everything turns out well…

’til the next race.

1 Comment

  1. 1:42?!?! Wow! Congrats on the PR and good luck sa Milo!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,756 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers