Cowboy (AKTV run)

When: June 5, 2011
Distance: 21km
Training: 36km

Summer is almost gone but the heat and humidity are getting worse. I am bound to run 36kms on this day and I didn’t want to be toasted again. So I prepared my “heat” mode race gear with a funny cowboy hat. Marvin will give to me on the starting area before the gunstart, so I won’t be caring it with me during my pre 15km run. Thanks Marvin!

15km pre run
Plan was just to do a 6pace 15km prior to the race but I have miscalculated the time and woke up 30mins late. So I laced up and ran as soon as I finished my morning rituals. I ran from my place and to the outskirts of MOA where the starting line was. In the past, I was worried on having too much interval time between my pre run and the race itself but in this case it turned out with me being late when the gun started for the 21km race. I was sprinting my way to the starting line hoping to catch up with the mid pack runners. Thanks Marvin for waiting for me – I needed that hat! Time check, my first 15km was at an average pace of 5:40, too fast from my training plan. I was also quite dehydrated when I started the 21k race. Geesh, I hope I can still finish it within sub-2 hours.

21k race – 1st half
I reset my Garmin time and there I was soaking wet when everyone around me seemed so fresh. I ran my first 3kms with an Alpha 1 team mate Rocky but dropped off on the second hydration station to rehydrate myself fully. At km4, I ran with some runners of Team Boring and I can say that running with them wasn’t boring at all. Hi’s and smiles from a lot of runners bestowed them at the U-turn slot. Sikat sila. hehe! I needed to drop off again at km11 as we approached the flyover to give myself a good walk break. And that started it all…

2nd half
Have you ever experienced feeling so lazy to run? I don’t know what came into me that time but my body no longer felt like running in a good state. I saw familiar faces who overtook me as I began my walkathon race. I became more depressed as countless runners overtook me thinking that even a jog for 500 meters was not possible to do. It really got me so bad that it made me more lazy to run.

Crossing the finish line

After a lot of walking, I finally finished all 21 kms at 2:30:18. I wasn’t able to target my required pace for my 36km long run. 😦

Thanks for waiting guys!

On the positive side of the story, I didn’t get much darker. Thanks to my Cowboy hat! 🙂

Hill billy! 36kms and standing..

’til the next race…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,848 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers