Broken wings (35th Milo Marathon)

When: July 31, 2011
Distance: 42.195kms
Result: DNF at 25km

I was on track at km 21 with my Garmin reading of 1:48:ish and I still have 1:57:ish to qualify. Legs were fresh, feeling good but something unexpected happened, I felt chafing on my inner thighs. I tried to ignore but it got worse and forced me to slow down. At that moment, It was hard for me to accept that I won’t be able to hit my goal or even finish it at sub-4 hours. As the pain burned up and I found myself slowing down even more, I knew even finishing it would be impossible. It was even HARDER to accept.

After jogging and walking for more than 2 KMs, I finally shut my wings and accepted that I won’t be going home with a medal from the most important race I’ve been training for months.

Need to heal these broken wings… and hoping to fly again…

6 Comments

  1. your wings aint broken. you were meant to soar higher. qualifying for milo is only one of those speed bumps towards boston. it was a wise decision to stop

  2. better than sorry as they’d say. good decision pre. there’s always next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Cheer up bro. We’ll be training again to qualify the next few years. There’s always hope! This type of trial is really the hardest to accept. We train hard, we eat, drink and sleep Milo for months.. then we miss the mark on race day where it matters most. I’ve been there last year. I ended up almost quitting running. Because I really felt what you just said – IT IS HARD TO ACCEPT.

    Then you recruited me to ALPHA 1 from my deep slumber. And one of my greatest assets going into this year’s elimination run is that I felt how painful it was not to qualify after trying so hard and so long. I just would not let that happen ever again. It only made me stronger.

    And I know, you will be back much stronger. Fight harder for your dreams. Sabi nga – the harder the fight, the sweeter the victory. Keep the hopes burning bro!

  4. No experience is wasted as long as we learn from it. Bounce back. Bounce back wiser and stronger. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. bro, there’s always a second chance… i know someday makukuha din natin na ma qualify sa MILO! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I did not knew that you DNF. I thought nga you sped away as I remembered we were at each other toes at sen. gill puyat. Anyway, I knew it’s frustrating that injury happened pa at Milo. Just rest and relax muna para mas faster and recovery.

    See you on the road soon.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,848 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers