August, recovery month

I still remember my last year’s post ‘What an August!’ where I did a recovery and fun month after my first full marathon at 34th Milo Marathon. That time, It was tend to recovery the physical aspects of a newbie runner from the challenges of a full mary race. This year’s month of August would be totally different as I tend to heal a much deeper wound from my DNF last 35th Milo Manila elims. Some of the things that kept me busy this month…

FUN RUNS

I was really pressured days before the milo event, not to mention during the race itself so I continue signing up for fun runs BUT goal was to enjoy with no target time.

NBA FIT&FUN Aug6. A week after milo without running, finished it in 1:49:04. Pic taken with PinoyFitness friends.

HP run Aug6. After the NBA fun run at bgc, went straight to mckinley to cheer my Alpha1 teammates. Congrats who made it to the podium finish guys! Pic taken after the race.

Run United2 Aug21. My Birthday run, just enjoyed it. Finished 1:50:17. Pic1 was few meters to the finishline. Pic2 was taken after the race at Jollibee. Di ako nanlibre neto, nakatakas. 🙂

Earth run Aug28. My last race during this month of August. I was on a group where we got lost during the race and took us 300-400 meters to get back to the race route. I got lazy and decided to wait for Martian who was then pacing a friend. Finished 2:06:ish. Pic with some PinoyFitness peeps.

GIMIK NIGHTS!

Too much gels and sports drink?!! Time for some booz. Lol!

7th High with Team Alpha1. Pic1 where everyone is still in a good state of mind. Pic2 was the opposite. Lol. Details in between can’t be disclose. lol. Run hard, party harder!

*Other gimik nights would be out of running topic. haha! 🙂

CROSS TRAININGS

No training runs for the whole month aside from the fun runs. Did lots of cross trainings instead. 🙂

Group cycling class at the gym

Badminton with teammates

My first love.. Basketball!

NEW SHOES

My Komodo Sport. Newest version of the VIBRAM family of fivefingers and the most sporty look. Tried running with them on a few runs for just 7kms at 5:30 pace. After each runs, my calves were burning. lol.

My Wave Universe 4. It is the lightest race flats ever designed for Mizuno and I think for all brands. With just 3.9oz and a feather like upper mesh, it is built for pure speed! Haven’t tested them yet, review to follow. 🙂

So far so good, I enjoyed this month. My broken wings are healing fast and thrilled to spread them once again. This time, hoping to flap them harder as I seek to soar higher! As the season of Christmas starts, it’s time for me to get back to training.

’til the next race…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,756 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers