Patience counts!

Hey there! Yeah, I know… it has been three quarters (since my last post) and it’s only now that I found the time to write updates on what has happened in my running life. Seeing that I’m still on the road to regaining my running prowess (ehem) while improving whatever’s left of my speed and endurance, let’s call this an installment to my bounce back year anecdote.  Shall we?

Well, the past months have been about labor. I started doing my old routines though not as intensive as I would wish, or how it was before. My goal this year is to beat my current 5k and 10k PRs, so my training revolves on these two distances. That being said, I daringly ran a few short distance trial races, and here’s a quick recap…

World Vision Run 06/22, 5k at 24:55 (5.8km)
This was my first running event for the year. The funny thing about this race was I got lost, though I still somehow managed to get back on track. My Garmin registered at 5.8km. Kath, on the other hand, finished 3rd place in the women’s category and was also awarded as Celebrity Mom (and got her freebies as my consolation :P).

kath world vision5k 3rd place women at 27:21

energen celebAnd her Celebrity Mom award, with Ms. Maricel Laxa-Pangilinan and Coach Rio 

Energen Run 07/20, 5k at 22:36 (5.2km)
After a month, I have to test my 5k again. I was able to hit sub 22min at 5km mark on my Garmin. It was a great event I thought. But then, Kath got her 4th podium finish and bagged her first 1st place in the women’s division, and so I mused great was an understatement 🙂

energen kath awardKath being awarded as fastest 5k female finisher at 27:49

energen bryWith Ms Mars and some veteran runners

Magdalo Run 07/26, 10k at 49:31
This was my 1st attempt at 10k for the year and was happy with my result. Kath, as well, finished strong as she raced to the top 10 women’s 5k. She seems to be doing better in bouncing back than me lol.

magdalo kathWith Ariana, also top 10 finsher

HP run 10/19, 10k at 44:23 (9km) 
HP runs for the past years have had very good reviews for being well organized. Sad to say, this year’s was a miss. Unfortunately, there was an issue with the 10k route that cut short the distance by over a kilometer. Anyway, Kath finished strong at 55:05 while I registered 44:23. Still deserving of a tap on the back!

HpKath’s mantra pic after HP run. hehe.

I’m happy to say that I’m starting to regain my strength and speed, my body fat also went down, and my overall fitness has improved. And while my current 5k and 10k PRs still stand, I know I still have a few months remaining of my bounce back year. I should be anxious, yes, but if there’s one lesson I learned from this slow, hard work…it’s patience, and it counts. So let’s see how it goes… 🙂

‘Til the next race!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • 2017 Races

    Apr9-Run4Change 10k
    Apr29-NextgenPOC 5k
    May6-RunForTheAspins 10k
    May14-PCCI 5k
    Jun11-OYM2 5k
    Jul16-Runfest 10k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,726 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers