Team Asaran (Baguio Run)

When: April 10, 2011
Distance: 21km

This would be my last fun run before I start a training program for my full mary on July. And speaking of fun, we registered for a pikermi race on the coolest place in the country.

Somewhere in Baguio(forgot the name of the place)

Somewhere in Baguio 2

Team Alpha 1 vacation mode

We walked around the city prior to race day not realizing the challenge we were about to face come race day.

Team Alpha 1 race mode w/ Kathy

It was said that 90% of the registrations came from Manila. That was why unsurprisingly I saw a lot of familiar faces. It was actually like running at BGC with the same people you see every Sunday with the addition of a very cold atmosphere. Yeah mate, it was F^%$#^$n cold. I tried to jog for 2kms hoping I can produce a drop of sweat but only caught a “nose ache” (is there a term?). haha! Ready, set and gun started on time at exactly 5:30am for the 21km distance.

The tired look – but pretending not to be

First few KMs were rolling downhills and uphills followed by a colossal downhill all the way to the U-turn slot. In a very elementary analysis: Given a loop start/finish point when there are downhills, what do we expect at the end? Yep, a continuous uphill all the way back to the finish line. Not to mention the very cold weather and the high altitude that makes a mortal runner breathe heavily. What a fun run to do before a serious training aye?

Bypassing the taho vendor

I saw the finish arc from a few hundred meters away at 1:58-ish on my time. As soon as I took my eyes off my Garmin, I found an extra nitro pack inside my engine and dashed my way towards the finish line. A local shouted “Sub 2! Sub 2!”, and yes it was. I finished it in 1:59:12, 85th overall. If I were a car, I would have probably a 1985 Hachi Roku. Not built for uphills or mountain routes. A total restoration or upgrade is still needed and I’m on it.

21k alpha 1 finishers

Still it was a fun out-of-town-vacation-race with Team Alpha 1. Also called TEAM ASARAN.

This marked the start of a more serious journey, training and qualifying for Milo Finals

’til the next race…

4 Comments

  1. congrats on the sub-2! galing!

  2. Awesome fun run, not to mention you hit sub 2!
    Goodluck on your July Marathon? Will that be an attempt to qualify MILO?

  3. Ang pogi naman yung singkit na nakajacket ng stripes na green… hahahaha! it’s great to see you and kathy!!! I really missed you guys!!! goodluck on the big one you’re telling about!!!

  4. @argo, don’t see you anymore running! musta na? yep. hopefully.. 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • 2019 Upcoming Races

    Nov 17-Bayanirun 10k
    Nov 30-IlovemycountryPH 10k
    Dec 8-I Love Jesus 10k
    Dec 15-Gen Run 5k
  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 23,989 hits
  • Team Alpha 1

  • Personal Best

    5k 00:21:16 Valuecare2012
    10k 00:44:06 2ndPatafa2012
    15k 01:12:19 Greentenial2011
    16k 01:16:43 Bullrun2011
    21k 01:42:16 Greenfield2011
    32k 02:51:51 Unilab32010
    42k 04:08:01 Qcim2010
    50k 08:04:48 1stPAU50K2010
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other subscribers